Professional Record

2023 – Founding Member, Centre for Sustainable Tourism (ZENAT), Berlin, Germany (former Centre for Sustainable Tourism (ZENAT) at Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development.

2021 – Executive Director, Senior Researcher, Institute for Tourism Sustainability – Lund-Durlacher & Partner GmbH, Vienna, Austria.

2007 – Honorary Professor, Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development, Germany

2007 – 2021 Full Professor, Department Head, Dean of the Undergraduate School, Modul University Vienna, Department of Tourism and Service Management, Vienna, Austria.

2004 – 2007 Professor for Tourism Economics and Marketing, Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development, Department of Economics, Germany.

1995 – 2004 Managing Director and Researcher, Institute for Tourism and Market Research, Berlin & Lecturer, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany.

1992 – 1995 General Secretary, Austrian Society of Applied Research in Tourism (ÖGAF), Vienna, Austria.

1990 Research Fellow, University of Central Florida, Department of Hospitality Management, Orlando, USA.

1987 – 1995 Assistant Professor, Vienna University of Economics and Business, Institute for Tourism and Leisure Studies, Vienna, Austria.


1989 PhD in Socio-economic Sciences, Vienna University of Business and Economics, Vienna, Austria.
1986 Magister rer.soc.oec, Business Administration with a specialization on Tourism and Leisure, Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria.

Community Engagement

Member of the Expert Advisory Board of the Austrian Minister of Agriculture, Regions, and Tourism.
Austrian SDG (Sustainable Development Goals) Ambassador appointed by the Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Regions, and Tourism (BMLRT).
Member of UN World Travel Organization (UNWTO) Working Group „Measuring the Sustainability of Tourism“,
Expert Council member at the UN Environmental Programs (UNEP), Sustainable Consumption and Production Unit, Paris.
Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of Futouris.
Chair of TourCert Certification Council.
Executive Committee Member of BEST EN – Building Excellence for Sustainable Tourism Education Network (Chair 2010 – 2014).

Honours and awards

BEST EN Outstanding Paper Award 2018 at the annual BEST EN (Building Excellence in Sustainable Tourism Education Network) Think Tank, 2018 „Can Direct Communication at the Point of Consumption Reduce the Attitude-Behavior Gap regarding Food Waste in Hotels?“, together with Hannes Antonschmidt.
ISTTE Best Paper Award 2012 at the annual conference of the International Society of Travel & Tourism Educators (ISTTE), 2012 for „A holistic approach for sustainable tourism education: an example from a European University“.
Sustainability Award 2012, 3rd place in the category ‚Teaching and Curriculum, International Co-operations‘ presented
by the Austrian Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management and the Austrian Federal Ministry of Science and Research for the co-development and participation in the „TEFI Global Tourism Course“.
Fulbright Scholar.